Bali, Island of Gods

After the day-trip to KL, we reached our original first destination, Bali.  I had expected a more crowded airport, however it was not. Maybe because we landed around 10 PM but it seemed deserted.  Anyway, we moved to the immigration line and got our passport stamped and proceeded towards the exit.  Just as we were about to exit, a Police officer came out and asked me to get out of line for checking.  Now, I was not the best looking guy in the airport at that time, but I surely didn’t look like someone who will breach their borders illegally or with bad intentions.  Still, I complied and the officer emptied my luggage and asked some questions about our plans. Once he was sure that I was indeed a tourist, he wished us a good time in Indonesia and we were off our way.  Now that I think about it, it must have been because of my “camouflage print” rucksack.

13433259_10204827158677390_1704267873707295487_o

 You can see my rucksack in this picture that I had got clicked at Istana Negara in KL.  The person behind was cleaning the piss of the Horse. The horse was literally pissed off.  Okay bad pun, but lets continue for Bali stories.

Once we were almost outside the airport, we booked a Uber.  However, as it is in bali, Uber pick ups are prohibited from most areas by the taxi unions.  Thus, our Uber never reached airport.  Then it was time for the haggling with taxi drivers.  I’m not very good at this so Guneet (my friend who was with me on this trip) took over the charge and we finalized a cab at 100,000 IDR to go to our hotel which was Legian.

While we were around 50 meters away, the cab driver pointed at the hotel we had booked and it did not look anything like it was shown on booking.com.  We decided to check it anyway since it was already 11 PM, fortunately the hotel was inside the alley and the wreck that we saw was some different building which was under construction.  The hotel we stayed in had beautiful spacious rooms and a green garden with a swimming pool just outside.  Just in case if anyone is interested “Si Doi Hotel Legian” is the name of hotel, do check it out.

13315492_10209179081701773_6283845032822415780_n

We put our luggage in rooms and getting a bit refreshed, we headed out to relinquish our hunger.  Since, we had 2 vegetarians in our group, we entered a place which had live music and vegetarian food.  This, this place was the place with the best service that I have ever received in any restaurant.  We ordered food for us and waited while listening to the awesome songs this man was singing.  Our food arrived and the waiter started to mention the names of ordered dishes.  Suddenly, he realized that one of the plates had seafood chips and he went back with it voluntarily and had a new portion of the dish without the seafood chips made.  I hope we will have such service in India someday.

On our way to this place from our hotel, I had got an idea that Bollywood was hugely popular in Indonesia.  However, something happened at the restaurant which made it sure that apart from Bollywood,  Indian girls were popular too.  the guy sitting on the table near us asked Sonakshi (one of my friends) to have a photo clicked with him.  Being a good person that she is, she complied and the guy also didn’t bother us.  So, I guess he was a good person as well. 🙂

After filling our bellies up and enjoying the music till it lasted (around 1:30- 2 AM), we went back to hotel to have some rest before the crazy next day we had planned on the morrow.

All in all, Bali had given only positive vibes to me and I had already decided that I AM COMING BACK TO THIS PLACE.

The stories of next day in the next blog, stay tuned. 🙂

P.S. If you liked this and would like to help me in funding my next trip, I would appreciate any voluntary donation.  Stay happy, stay blessed. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Bali, Island of Gods

    1. Yes, it is Visa On Arrival for most of the countries. The best part is that there is no Visa fee applicable if you are a tourist and planning to stay for less than 30 days. 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment